Domain name with Fortune 500 history involved in domain dispute.
Shipping company Neptune Orient Lines Limited has lost a UDRP challenge against the owner of the domain name NOL.com.
The domain’s owner, cnwonder.com or Wu Guiqiang, said he didn’t register the domain name with the shipping company’s NOL trademark in mind. He also used the domain name for a service called “Names Online”, or NOL for short.
The panelist accepted that the domain name wasn’t registered and used in bad faith, and that the owner had rights or legitimate interests in the name.
What makes this case more interesting is the history of the domain name. It was previously owned by Sprint Nextel and registered at Mark Monitor. In the dispute, the respondent claimed he registered the domain name on March 14, 2009. Indeed, the domain name transferred to his control and to a different domain name registrar (Answerable) around that date. But the domain name didn’t expire. It’s possible that Sprint sold the domain name to the respondent, (turns out it did expire. The expiration date I saw was the registry date in whois. It was sold in an expired domain name auction for $26,000 in 2009). but I find it strange that he wouldn’t have brought this up in his response. If Sprint owned it for some legitimate purpose (Nextel OnLine?), and he acquired it from Sprint, that would seem to be a good defense.
© DomainNameWire.com 2009.
Review and rate domain name parking companies at Parking Judge.
Related posts:
(19 unread)


Demand Media, parent company of eNom, has added two members to its board of directors.




Neustar,has recently announced that they will hold a conference call and webcast to discuss the first quarter 2010 operating and financial results.